With us, every coffee bean has a face.
Kaffee mit Herz

With us, every coffee bean has a face

We will give coffee a face. And that goes like this: If you come to our numerous events, you can meet the coffee farmers in person since we will invite them to Switzerland.

With us, the coffee producer is not only at the beginning of a processing and sales chain, but he or she will be a partner at every step. As a result, farmers will learn to understand our coffee culture in order to better implement the customer's desire for sustainability. Farmers will also present their social projects, which are supported by the purchase of their coffee, and projects that promote better infrastructure on plantations. Furthermore, at the RÖSTWERK, coffee connoisseurs are invited to exchange ideas directly with the coffee producers.

That's what we call 100% direct trade with a close relationship between producer and consumer.

Our strategy aims at producing according to the „third wave of coffee“.

Third wave of coffee

The third wave of coffee manifests itself amongst others through the direct procurement of high-quality beans and single-origin coffee. Thereby, using alternative processes for coffee preparation such as vacuumed coffee and the ‘Hario V60’. However, we take things just that little bit further due to the close relationship with the farmer and client. We manage to bring together what belongs together.

direct trade from Honduras

The Coffee Trade Place

We don’t claim to be competitors to the other roasting houses, possessing the beans or the best roasting house, purely because each roasting house has its own unique way of refining. The same coffee bean is used, but what is released is an unbelievable, aromatic diversified taste. Rather we see ourselves as a market place, a place where coffee producers and processors can meet, exchange their ideas and work together. The coffee farmers we present have a lot more coffee than we are able to process so instead we deliver the farmers the opportunity to sell their product, in bulk, and at a fair price, which in turn also benefits us. Doing things this way makes it possible to drastically reduce transportation costs. We introduce our farmers to other roasting houses for so that they can be used in their marketing and events.

Clients

A special coffee is the calling card for SME’s and large corporations, as well as for cafés and all gastronomy business.

We deliver our coffee to wherever the consumption is desired. However, we do this according to the sustainability, quality, Direct-Trade and the proximity of the coffee farmer. We deliberately distance ourselves from industrial, large roasting houses. Why? Well in just 90 seconds they are able to roast several hundred kilos of coffee, this results in a loss of the precious aromas. We keep our drum roaster at a low heat so that the roasting process takes place over a longer period of time. The act of doing these means that we are able to win the smell, the aromas from the green coffee beans. This results in a coffee, which is not only digestible, but also guaranteed high quality.

We also create custom- made mixtures (in-House coffee) to allocate individual preferences, whether in small or great amounts. It would be our pleasure to advise you!

Coffee beans from Honduras

Our coffee beans

The come mainly from Honduras, a country, which is has the ideal conditions for coffee growing. The climate and the lush vegetation clearly play their role in this.

Cultivation area

Honduras offers five different regions, which excel in wonderful coffee consumption; our top beans are from Marcala and Copán. These two regions couldn’t be different, for whereas the region Copán provides beans with a fruity taste, those from Marcala tend to be more acidic.

Marcala

This Region is among the best in the world for where aromatic coffee is produced. The municipality of La Paz is situated in the Montecillos region of Honduaras, in Central America. This is where Arabica coffee is cultivated at a height between 1300m and 1800m above sea-level, a real highland coffee at an apt price. The destination, Café Marcala, was the first to be registered in Honduras and Central America. Since its establishment and going into operation in 2005, this high quality coffee enjoys special protection. Belonging to the various coffee cultivations are Catuai, Borboun, Pacas and Caturra.

Copán

More information comming soon.

Coffee farmer

We select our coffee producers according to our own criteria, to best market their products in Switzerland. One criterion is that no child-labour is used and that they possess the necessary certification. We receive additional support by our local head-hunter team, who find the suitable candidate according to our prerequisites. Although we are regularly in the country, it takes two years of intensive accompanying in order for the suitable coffee farmer is found, who suits our marketing strategy. It is just not part of our strategy to quickly buy a bag of beans.

the team behind Röstwerk

Karla Salgado de Ollesch | projectleader

karla@roestwerkbern.ch

„I was born in Tegucigalpa, Honduras in 1970. From the age of 5, I moved to Germany and grew up in the city of Essen. I have been living with my family in Switzerland since 2003. I have been back to visit my family in Honduras on many occasions. However, in the past two years, I have had the opportunity to have close contact with coffee producers and then get involved in the coffee business.“

Boris Ollesch | Marketing

boris@roestwerkbern.ch

„In 1968 I came into the world. From the age of 6 Karla (see above) was my playmate. We got married and we are the proud parents of three children. All three children have finished their schooling and are fully qualified in the career and are fully independent. When I lived in Germany,I learned the trade of plastering and in Switzerland I have became qualified as a technical commercial manager. I therefore have the good basis to undertake new tasks and especially now due to the fact the children have now left home.“

Roger Neifeind | Crowdfunding

roger@roestwerkbern.ch

„I am involved in the field of IT throughout Switzerland. It was by pure coincidence that I paths crossed. Over a wonderful meal, Boris and Karla told me about their project and that the next stage was to gain the financing. I have gained a lot of experience with crowdfunding, so I told them that through the contacts I have, I would like to pass on the information about their brilliant project. Without having to think twice, I was assigned the position of Crowdfunding advisor. We meet on a weekly basis to see to it that the funding is in place, for the project to begin. It is really exciting to work with them.“

Arlyn und Juri Rivera | Headhunters in Honduras

They are a young well-coordinated team and enjoy our full trust. They are responsible for the valuation of companies and land. They get the chance to meet with many coffee producers and being able to help them carry out investment. Due to the fact that Röstwerk has an urgent need, they really want to support it. They will keep a watchful eye ensuring that the dispatch runs smoothly. It’s a great pleasure to work with them.

Kira Heer | Adviser & supporter

Her passion is coffee. They have creating amazing coffee for the past five years in their roasting house in Thun, Switzerland. We got to meet them there and really treasured this. When a Honduran came to visit and saw them, he was so impressed to personally meet such a producer, this triggered the idea of our project. From this moment on, Kira has been there ready to offer all help at hand, including offering support for the roasting.

Tipp

We strongly encourage you to meet her and enjoy a tasty coffee, wonderful homemade cakes, salads and soups, which freshly made every day.

Rösterei Kira Heer, Frutigenstrasse 5, 3600 Thun, www.roestereiheer.ch

Bei uns hat jede Bohne ein Gesicht.
Kaffee mit Herz
Popup im Kaffee Montag

Jetzt probieren!

Vom 1. Juli bis 29. September 2019 könnt Ihr unseren Kaffee probieren: Im Kaffee Montag, Gerechtigkeitsgasse 27, 3011 Bern.

Bei uns hat jede Bohne ein Gesicht

Wir werden Kaffee ein Gesicht geben. Und das geht so: Wenn du zu unseren zahlreichen Events kommst, kannst du den Kaffeebauern persönlich kennenlernen, weil er zu uns in die Schweiz kommt.

Bei uns steht der Kaffeeproduzent nicht nur am Anfang einer ganzen Verarbeitungs- und Verkaufskette, sondern er wird bei allen Schritten ein Wegbegleiter sein. Dadurch lernt er unsere Kaffeekultur verstehen, um anschliessend den Kundenwunsch von Nachhaltigkeit besser umzusetzen. Auch stellt er seine sozialen Projekte vor, die mit dem Erwerb seines Kaffees unterstützt werden sowie Projekte, die das Erreichen der besseren Infrastruktur auf seiner Plantage fördern. Und Kaffeegeniesser können sich natürlich im RÖSTWERK direkt mit den Kaffeeproduzenten austauschen.

Das nennen wir 100% Direct-Trade mit wirklicher Nähe zum Erzeuger.

Unsere Strategie geht ganz bewusst in Richtung „third wave of coffee“.

Third wave of coffee

Diese dritte Kaffeewelle zeichnet sich unter anderem durch Direkteinkauf, qualitativ hochwertige Bohnen, und Single-Origin-Kaffee aus. Dabei werden wieder alternative Methoden zur Kaffeezubereitung angewendet wie zum Beispiel Vakuumkaffee und der Hario V60. Nur, dass wir mit der engen Bindung von Bauern und Kunden noch einen Schritt weiter gehen. Und damit bringen wir zusammen, was zusammengehört.

Fairtrade aus Honduras

The Coffee Trade Place

Wir sehen uns nicht als Konkurrenz zu anderen Röstereien um die beste Bohne oder die beste Röstung, denn jede Rösterei hat ihre eigene Art der Veredelung. So kommt aus der gleichen Bohne eine unglaubliche aromatische Vielfalt von Geschmack. Vielmehr sehen wir uns als Marktplatz, wo sich Kaffeeproduzent und Verarbeiter treffen, austauschen und zur Zusammenarbeit kommen. Die vorgestellten Kaffeebauern, haben mehr Kaffee als wir verarbeiten können, und so geben wir den Bauern die Möglichkeit, eine grössere Menge zu fairen Preisen zu verkaufen, was letztendlich auch für uns ein Nutzen ist. Die Transportkosten können so wesentlich minimiert werden. Unsere Bauern stellen wir zudem allen Röstereien für ihr Marketing und ihre Events zur Verfügung.

Kunden

Ein besonderer Kaffee ist die Visitenkarte für kleine, mittlere und grosse Unternehmen, für Cafés und Gastronomie.

Wir liefern unseren Kaffee dorthin, wo es auf Genuss ankommt, aber auch auf Nachhaltigkeit, Qualität, Direct-Trade und Nähe zum Kaffeebauern.

Wir grenzen uns bewusst von industriellen Grossrösterreien ab. Diese rösten in 90 Sekunden mehrere hundert Kilo Kaffee, wobei fast alle wertvollen Aromen verloren gehen. In unserem Trommelröster führen wir bei geringer Hitze eine Langzeitröstung durch. Gerade dabei werden Duft- und Aromastoffe aus den grünen Kaffeebohnen gewonnen. Es entsteht ein Kaffee, der besonders gut verträglich ist und höchste Qualität gewährleistet.

Wir kreieren auch individuelle Mischungen (Ihren eigenen Hauskaffee) nach persönlichen Vorstellungen in kleinen und grösseren Mengen. Wir beraten Sie gerne!

Kaffeebohnen aus Honduras

Unsere Kaffeebohnen

Diese kommen hauptsächlich aus Honduras, einem Land, welches ausgezeichnet für das Anbauen für Kaffee geeignet ist. Das Klima und die üppige Vegetation tragen einen wesentlichen Teil dazu bei.

Anbaugebiete

In Honduras gibt es fünf Regionen für herrlichen Kaffeegenuss. Aus Marcala und Copán kommen unsere ersten Bohnen. Es sind Gebiete, die unterschiedlicher nicht sein können. Während die Region Copán eine fruchtige Bohne hervorbringt, kommen aus Marcala eher säurehaltige Bohnen.

Marcala

Eine Region, in der einer der besten aromatischen Kaffees weltweit hergestellt wird. Die Gemeinde La Paz liegt in der Region von Montecillos in Honduras in Zentralamerika. Dort wird der Arabica Coffee auf einer Höhe zwischen 1300 und 1800 Metern über dem Meeresspiegel angebaut. Ein echter Hochlandkaffee, der seinen Preis zu Recht hat. Die Herkunftsbezeichnung Café Marcala ist die erste, die in Honduras und Mittelamerika registriert wurde. Seit der Gründung und Inbetriebnahme 2005 ist der Qualitätskaffee geschützt. Zu den angebauten Kaffeesorten gehören Catuai, Borboun, Pacas, Caturra. Ein besonderes Geschmackserlebnis erlebt man mit dem traditionellem Aufbrühen.

Copán

Von dieser Gegend wird in Kürze berichtet.

Kaffeebauern

Unsere Kaffeeproduzenten suchen wir nach eigenen Kriterien aus, um deren Produkte in der Schweiz bestmöglich zu vermarkten. Zu den Kriterien gehören unter anderem, dass keine Kinderarbeit stattfindet und alle, für uns nötigen Stempel, vorhanden sind. Hierzu werden wir durch ein Headhunter-Team vor Ort unterstützt, welches durch unsere Vorgaben geeignete Kandidaten aussucht. Obwohl wir regelmässig im Land sind, dauert es mindestens zwei Jahre der intensiven Begleitung, bis der geeignete Kaffeebauer für unsere Marktstrategie gefunden ist. Mal schnell einige Säcke kaufen liegt bei uns nicht drin.

Das Team hinter Röstwerk

Karla Salgado de Ollesch | Projektleiterin

karla@roestwerkbern.ch

„Ich bin 1970 in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, geboren und ab dem 5. Lebensjahr in Essen, Deutschland, aufgewachsen. Seit 2003 lebe ich mit meiner Familie in der Schweiz. Die letzten Jahre habe ich sehr oft meine Familie in Honduras besucht. Aber erst vor zwei Jahren hat sich dann die Gelegenheit eröffnet, viel mit Kaffeeproduzenten Kontakt zu haben und in das Kaffeegeschäft einzusteigen.“

Boris Ollesch | Marketing

boris@roestwerkbern.ch

„1968 habe ich in Essen, Deutschland, das Licht der Welt, erblickt. Seit dem 6. Lebensjahr ist Karla (von oben) meine Spielkameradin gewesen, und wir sind mittlerweile verheiratet und Eltern von drei Kindern. Die drei haben schon ihre Ausbildung hinter sich und können auf eigenen Beinen stehen. In Deutschland habe ich die Lehre als Stukkateur gemacht und in der Schweiz eine Weiterbildung als Technischer Kaufmann. Damit sind gute Grundlagen gelegt, zusammen neue Aufgaben anzugehen und etwas Besonderes aufzubauen, gerade jetzt, wo die Kinder aus dem Haus sind.“

Roger Neifeind | Crowdfunding

roger@roestwerkbern.ch

„Durch die IT-Branche habe ich in der Schweiz zu tun. Es war reiner Zufall, dass sich unsere Wege gekreuzt haben. Bei einem gemütlichen Essen haben mir Karla und Boris von ihrem Projekt erzählt und darüber, dass als nächstes die Finanzierung dafür ansteht. Da ich einige Erfahrung mit Crowdfunding habe, informierte ich die beiden über diese Möglichkeit, viele Personen an diesem tollen Projekt teilhaben zu lassen. Ohne langes Zögern machten sie mich zu ihrem Crowdfunding-Berater. Nun treffen wir uns wöchentlich, bis alles rund um das Crowdfunding steht und wir damit starten können. Es ist sehr spannend, daran mitzuarbeiten.“

Arlyn und Juri Rivera | Headhunter in Honduras

Das junge Paar ist ein eingespieltes Team und geniesset unser vollstes Vertrauen. Die beiden sind zuständig für Firmen- und Grundstücksbewertungen. Dadurch kommen sie mit vielen Kaffeeproduzenten zusammen, die mit ihrer Hilfe wichtige Investitionen tätigen können. Da das Projekt von Röstwerk einem dringendes Bedürfnis entspricht, wollen sie es unbedingt unterstützen. Sie werden auch den reibungslosen Versand der Ware für uns überwachen. Es ist ein Vergnügen mit ihnen zu arbeiten.

Kira Heer | Beraterin und Unterstützerin

Ihre Leidenschaft ist der Kaffee. In ihrer Rösterei in Thun kreiert sie seit fünf Jahren herrlichen Kaffee. Dort haben wir sie auch kennen und schätzen gelernt. Als ein honduranischer Kaffeebauer mit uns ihre Rösterei besucht hat, war sie begeistert, einen Produzenten persönlich kennenzulernen. Und so war auch die Idee unseres Projektes geboren. Kira steht seitdem mit ihrem enormen Wissen hilfsbereit zur Seite und unterstützt uns bei den Röstungen.

Tipp

Wir empfehlen, einmal bei Kira Heer einzukehren und einen köstlichen Kaffee oder die leckeren hausgemachten Kuchen, Salate und Suppen zu versuchen, die von Kira täglich mit viel Liebe zubereitet werden.

Rösterei Kira Heer, Frutigenstrasse 5, 3600 Thun, www.roestereiheer.ch